You are here

Don't Have an Attorney

What is Bankruptcy?
Bankruptcy is a federal court proceeding designed to provide individuals and businesses with a way to address debt problems.  It is intended to provide debtors with a “fresh start” or debt relief, while treating creditors fairly.  There are six types of bankruptcy: Chapter 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, and 15.  This material discusses Chapter 7 and 13 bankruptcies – the chapters most commonly used by consumers.  Chapter 9 is for municipalities.  Chapter 11 is typically for business reorganization. Chapter 12 is for family farmer and fisherman reorganization, and Chapter 15 is to recognize a foreign bankruptcy proceeding.

What does 'Pro Se' mean?
An appearance in Court is pro se if the party represents himself/herself without an attorney.


Documents in the PDF format require Adobe Reader® which is free software that allows you to view, print, and search PDF files.