
United States Bankruptcy Court 
Eastern District of Missouri 

Conforming Procedures Manual Changes 
L.R. 2003, L.R. 2016-1, and L.R. 3002.1

Effective December 1, 2023



United States Bankruptcy Court 
Eastern District of Missouri 

2

L.R. 2003 - § 341 Meetings



3 

Attorney Admission and Compensation 

Admission to Practice 
All duly licensed attorneys who are admitted to practice before the U.S. District Court for the 
Eastern District of Missouri and that are not under disbarment or suspension from any court shall 
be allowed to practice law before the Bankruptcy Court pursuant to L.R. 2090.  Admission to the 
United States District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri is governed by E.D.Mo.L.R. 
12.01. 

All partnerships, corporations and other business entities (other than an individual conducting 
business as a sole proprietorship) must be represented by an attorney admitted to practice before 
this Court except such entities may appear and act on their own behalf for the purpose of 
attending the meeting of creditors, filing a request for notice and service of documents, and filing 
a proof of claim as permitted under L.R. 9010. 

An attorney who is not admitted to practice before this Court may be permitted to appear pro hac 
vice, but only on motion using Local Form 7 in accordance with L.R. 2090 and with payment of 
required fees.  Such fees are payable to the Clerk, U.S. District Court, but are to be submitted 
with the pro hac vice application to the Bankruptcy Court.  

Guidelines for Attorney Compensation 
The Appendix to this Manual contains the Court’s Guidelines for Professional Compensation.  
L.R. 2016-1 through 2016-4 govern the procedures for applications for professional
compensation.

Meetings of Creditors & Trustee Information 

Required Documentation  
In Chapter 7 cases, debtors must provide the following documentation to the trustee at least 14 
days prior to the initial § 341 meeting of creditors: 

1. For pro se debtors, the Statement Upon Penalty of Perjury for Debtors Without an
Attorney;

2. Valid government issued photo identification and proof of social security number;

3. Most recently filed federal and state tax returns.  In cases that are converted from Chapter
13, the return should be the most recent filed return prior to the original date of case
filing;

4. Pay advices for the 60 days prior to filing or if no pay advices are available, then a signed
affidavit from the debtor explaining why they are not available;

5. Savings, checking, pre-paid debit cards, online accounts (including PayPal, Green Dot,
Cash App, Venmo, Zelle, etc.) and investment account statements covering the date of
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filing.  In cases that are converted from Chapter 13, the statements shall cover the date of 
conversion; and 

6. Divorce decree or separation agreement that were entered within one year of the petition
date.

In Chapter 13 cases, debtors must provide the following documentation to the trustee at least 14 
days prior to the initial § 341 meeting of creditors:  

1. For pro se debtors, the Statement Upon Penalty of Perjury For Debtors Without An
Attorney;

2. Valid government issued photo identification and proof of social security number;

3. Most recently filed federal and state tax returns;

4. Pay advices for the 60 days prior to filing or if no pay advices are available, then a signed
affidavit from the debtor explaining why they are not available; and

5. The Chapter 13 trustee’s question sheet. Copies may be obtained from the Chapter 13
Trustee’s Office at: https://www.ch13stl.com//. Debtors engaged in business may be
subject to additional requirements by the trustee.

The lists of documents for Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 cases detailed above are not intended to be 
exhaustive. Nothing precludes the trustee in a Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 case from requesting the 
production of additional documents. 

In Chapter 9 or Chapter 11 cases, debtors should contact the United States Trustee’s Office for a 
list of the documents that must be provided prior to the initial § 341 meeting of creditors. In 
Chapter 12 cases, debtors should contact the trustee appointed to the case for a list of the 
documents that must be provided prior to the initial § 341 meeting of creditors. 

All individual debtors must bring photo identification and proof of social security number.  The 
following are acceptable forms of photo identification:  

1. driver’s license;
2. federal or state government ID;
3. student ID;

4. U.S. passport;
5. military ID; or
6. resident alien card.

Acceptable forms of proof of social security number include an original: 

1. social security card;
2. medical insurance card;
3. pay stub;

4. W-2 form;
5. Internal Revenue Service Form 1099; or
6. Social Security Administration SSA report.
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APPENDIX
Guidelines for Compensation of Professionals and Reimbursement of Expenses 

Consistent with Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2016 and Local Rule 2016-1(C), the following Guidelines for 
Compensation of Professionals and Reimbursement of Expenses apply in all bankruptcy cases in 
the Eastern District of Missouri.  

A. Time Records in Support of Fee Applications.
Time records for which compensation is sought should be kept contemporaneously with
the services provided and must identify the professional performing the task, the
professional’s hourly rate, and the length of time of the task expressed in tenths (1/10ths)
of an hour.  Services may not be “lumped” together unless distinct tasks performed in a
project do not exceed .5 hours on a daily basis.  All time entries must include a detailed
description of the services performed organized in chronological order.  All applications
must contain activity descriptions with sufficient detail to allow the Court to determine if
the requested time and service is actual, reasonable and necessary.

B. Content of Application.
All applications for compensation must:

1. Contain information about the applicant, including:
a. the date the bankruptcy petition was filed,
b. date the order of employment was approved,
c. identification of party represented,
d. terms and conditions of employment and compensation, including sources

and amount of any retainer, and
e. the time period covered by the application.

2. Indicate:
a. whether the application is interim or final;
b. the dates of previous orders on interim applications,
c. the amounts requested and allowed,
d. the amounts paid and any amounts remaining unpaid.

3. Provide information on the status of the case including, in Chapter 11 cases:
a. whether all quarterly fees have been paid,
b. whether all monthly operating reports have been filed, and
c. the amount of cash on hand or deposit.

Items 1-3 may be provided in summary format using Local Forms 4 or 5, as applicable. 

4. Address the twelve factors from Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 488
F2d 718 (5th Cir. 1974) with a brief narrative of significant events in case during
the period covered by the application and a summary of major activity under each
project category.
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5. Include time records as an exhibit.

C. Time Limitations and Descriptions.
Time entries should follow the following format:

1. conferences and telephone calls should identify the participants and primary
subject of the communication;

2. drafting or reviewing documents should identify the document involved by title or
subject matter;

3. research should describe the research performed and its purpose;
4. court hearings should describe the purpose of the hearing and if more than one

professional attends a hearing or conference, the application must explain the
need for multiple attendees; and

5. travel shall be limited to 50% of the professional’s hourly rate; actual work
performed during travel is excluded from this limitation.

D. Reimbursement of Expenses.
Reimbursement for expenses is confined to the actual and reasonable expenses necessary
to fulfill the employment. Applications for reimbursement must be supported by the
appropriate documentation for all expenses in excess of $25.00 and are subject to review
under 11 U.S.C.  § 330(a).  Copies of supporting documentation should not be filed or
served with the application except, when requested, copies should be served on the Office
of the United States Trustee.

1. Reimbursement of actual out-of-pocket charges for the following types of
expenses ordinarily will be allowed, subject to review under § 330(a):
a. Copying and duplication costs
b. Deposition and transcript fees
c. Expenses of members of official committees incurred in connection with

attending committee meetings
d. Filing fees
e. First-class postage
f. Sales taxes imposed on professional services and ordinarily charged to

clients
g. Service-of-process fees
h. Travel and transportation expenses, excluding commuting and other local

expenses:
i. Coach airfare

ii. Lodging
iii. Meals
iv. Mileage at the IRS rate
v. Parking

vi. Public transportation
vii. Rental cars

viii. Ridesharing services
ix. Taxis
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x. Tolls
i. Witness fees
j. Working meals (i.e., meals served during client meeting or meals served

during negotiations with opposing counsel)

2. The following types of expenses will not be allowed in routine circumstances but
may be allowed if a professional demonstrates that the expense is necessary under
§ 330(a)(1)(B) and otherwise appropriate to charge to the bankruptcy estate in the
circumstances of a particular case:
a. Charges for overnight or expedited delivery, or local messenger or courier

service, where necessary to give appropriate notice
b. E-discovery vendor charges
c. Facsimile charges
d. Meals for employees working after normal business hours
e. Rental or other charges for a “war room” or other facilities during trial
f. Transportation home for personnel working after normal business hours

have concluded.

3. The following types of expenses ordinarily will not be allowed:
a. Administrative and operating expenses of operating a professional’s

office, business, or home office:
i. Computerized research

ii. Equipment
iii. Furnishings
iv. Insurance
v. Internet service

vi. Library expenses
vii. Office supplies

viii. PACER charges
ix. Paralegal overtime
x. Rent

xi. Repairs and maintenance work for personal vehicles
xii. Secretarial time and overtime

xiii. Taxes, other than sales taxes
xiv. Telephone charges (including mobile and long-distance charges)
xv. Utilities

xvi. Videoconferencing services
xvii. Word processing

b. Charges of other professionals:
i. Expert witnesses

ii. Local counsel
iii. Outsourcing and staffing services
iv. Referral fees

c. Luxury travel expenses
i. Alcohol and entertainment expenses

ii. Limousine and private car services
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iii. Personal hotel expenses, such as movie rentals or gym fees
d. Expenses exceeding the actual amount charged to the applicant.



United States Bankruptcy Court 
Eastern District of Missouri 

10

L.R. 3002.1 – Notice Relating to Claims Secured by

Security Interest in the Debtor’s Principal Residence



11 

Waiver of Attendance 
A request by a debtor to be excused from attendance at the meeting of creditors must be made in 
writing to the Office of the United States Trustee and copied to the case trustee.  The U.S. 
Trustee’s acceptable grounds for waiver include:  medical condition, imprisonment and military 
assignment which prevent attendance. Any application for waiver of attendance must include 
supporting documentation, e.g., doctor’s letter, court order, or military order.  Waiver of personal 
appearance and permission to attend a § 341 meeting by telephone must also be approved by the 
U.S. Trustee’s Office. To appear by telephone, the debtor must be sworn in and identified by a 
notary, court reporter, or other person permitted by law to administer an oath. 

Office of the United States Trustee 
Assistant U.S. Trustee: Attorneys for U.S. Trustee: 
Paul Randolph Carole Ryczek  (314) 539-2976
111 South 10th Street, Suite 6353 Sirena Wilson   (314) 539-2976
St. Louis, MO 63102  Joe Schlotzhauer (314) 539-2976

The list of panel trustees and their contact information can be accessed at: 
https://www.moeb.uscourts.gov/us-trustee-trustee-information 

Chapter 12 and 13 Procedures 

Chapter 13 Attorney Fee Guidelines 
The Court’s flat fee and fee application options are governed by L.R. 2016-3(A).  All 
applications must be served as specified in L.R 2016-1(B)(2).  Payment of Chapter 13 attorneys 
fees through the plan is governed by L.R. 3015-2(G).   A Chapter 13 debtor’s attorney may be 
compensated on an hourly basis for representation of the debtor in an appeal or an adversary 
proceeding. 

Chapter 12 and 13 Plan and Confirmation of Plan 
1. Interest on Secured Claims in Chapters 12 and 13.  The applicable interest rate for

secured claims in Chapter 13 cases is published on the Court’s web site.  The Chapter 12
interest rate for secured claims is the same as the Chapter 13 interest rate.

2. Chapter 13 Confirmation of Plans.   Confirmation of a plan or amended plan may take
place prior to the confirmation hearing if no timely objection is filed.  The trustee shall
provide a proposed order confirming the plan or the pre- or post-confirmation amended
plan.

Chapter 13 Requirements Regarding Motor Vehicles 
For insurance requirements, please see L.R. 2015-2(C).  L.R. 3015-2(H) governs vehicle 
valuation. 
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Creditor’s Attorney Fees in Chapter 13 Cases 
For notices of fees, expenses and charges filed by creditors or by creditors’ attorneys in Chapter 
13 cases, the following limits on fees pertaining to legal services for a bankruptcy case are in 
effect: 

1. Review Plan/File Proof of Claim: $400
2. Motion for Relief From Stay: $900
3. Notice (post-petition fees/payment change): $150 for Notice of Post-Petition Fees not

more often than once every 180 days; $150 for Notice of Payment Change not more often
than once every 365 days

4. Notice of Default: $100 for filing a Notice of Default; $200 for each appearance at a
hearing on a Notice of Default

5. Charges for Objections to Confirmation are determined on a case-by-case basis.

$300 per hour is the maximum hourly rate that ordinarily will be allowed to Creditors’ attorneys 
who choose to bill hourly.  In all events, hourly rates remain subject to specific objection by any 
party. 

Debtor’s Attorney Fees in Chapter 13 Cases 
$300 per hour is the maximum hourly rate that ordinarily will be allowed to Debtor’s attorneys 
who choose to bill hourly.  In all events, hourly rates remain subject to specific objection by any 
party. 

Chapter 11 Procedures 

Coordination with Court 
If you believe coordination with the Court is necessary or helpful before filing any substantial 
Chapter 11 case, please contact only the Clerk of Court at (314) 244-4601.  

United States Trustee’s Role 
The United States Trustee’s role includes reviewing first day motions, professional employment 
issues, committee formation and other topics germane to the commencement of the case.   The 
U.S. Trustee will also assign an analyst and attorney to each case and will mail notice to each of 
the 20 largest unsecured creditors concerning formation of an unsecured creditors’ committee.  At 
the initial debtor interview, if not addressed in advance, the U.S. Trustee will review:  

1. the debtor’s obligation to file monthly operating reports;
2. the debtor’s insurance needs;
3. the U.S. Trustee’s banking guidelines;
4. the U.S. Trustee’s Fee Guidelines; and
5. the debtor’s obligation to pay quarterly fees under 28 U.S.C. § 1930(a)(6).

First Day Matters 
Typical first day matters include:   
1. Motions for joint administration;
2. Applications for employment of professionals, including attorneys, accountants, financial
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